top of page
SJS Narthex.jpg
Holy Orders

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles, continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time.  This is a sacrament of apostolic ministry.  It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon).

All Christians participate in the one priesthood of Christ.  The whole community of believers is, as such, priestly.  Through the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation the faithful are “consecrated to be…a holy priesthood.”  Those who, after being baptized, receive the Sacrament of Holy Orders, also become part of the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood. The ministerial priesthood is at the service of the common priesthood of all the baptized. It is intended to unfold the baptismal grace of all Christians.  The ministerial priesthood is the means by which Christ continues to build up and lead his Church.

If you or someone you know is interested in discerning a call to the priesthood, the permanent diaconate, or other consecrated vocations, please speak with our pastor or contact the parish office.

 📞 250-542-1276


bottom of page